André Faaij, TNO

André P.C. Faaij (1969) is appointed as Director of Science of TNO Energy Transition He combines this position with a part time chairs as Distinguished Professor Energy System Analysis at the University of Groningen (RUG) and Utrecht University (UU).

Ongoing research covers energy system integration questions & modelling, industrial transformation, transition processes towards low carbon energy systems and related innovation and policy questions.

Being part of IPCC, he was jointly awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007. Furthermore, he was appointed Young Global Leader by the World Economic Forum and 2015 he received The Linneborn Prize; established in 1994 for outstanding contributions to the development of energy from biomass.

He published over 600 titles in scientific journals, reports, books and proceedings, qualifies as ‘highly cited researcher’ (top 1% of research field) by criteria of Clarivate Web of Science and is frequently lecturing across the globe.